Growing Fonder

I mentioned in my last post my desire to make something out of Mo Coppoletta’s fabric design ‘Growing Fonder’ for Liberty. Well, now I have.

Growing Fonder top

I started this a fortnight ago, but then had to tidy everything away as the house became French-speaking for a long weekend while my mum’s Parisian friend visited, staying in the sewing room

.Turtles fabric cutting

This morning I finally put together the facings and finished off the top – it’s based on the one I saw in Ray-Stitch the other day, using Simplicity 8523. I used neckline D and the no-sleeves option, so as to conserve enough fabric to make skirt. I also did French seams, because they’re lovely đŸ™‚

Sewing Liberty Growing Fonder

What I really like about this fabric is the gold ink – it’s really lovely and metallic, and so bright in the sunshine! The design is not the sort of thing I’d normally go for, but I loved the ombre effect of the lines of peacocks.

Growing Fonder topGrowing Fonder top neck facing Growing Fonder top arm facing Growing Fonder top dart Growing Fonder french seam

It’s been fantastic making something like this – it opens my horizons to lots of new possibilities with this sort of fabric. I’m particularly tempted by the idea of making a ‘peacock skirt‘ and strutting about (not exactly) like someone from a Beardsley illustration.

Leave a Reply

