The Tulgy Woods

As mentioned in my last post, I made a dress. It’s just taken ages for me to post it…

image

image

The pattern was the marvellous Christine Haynes Emery dress, with a few alterations.

Firstly, mine is a  lightweight summer dress so I didn’t do lining anywhere.

image

Secondly, I ditched the back zip and replaced it with buttons.

image

And finally, I altered the neckline and gave it a scooped back.

image

image

Sadly I have been shrinking recently, so the dress is a rather loose fit at the moment. Seems to work OK with a belt though. I evidently am not consuming enough icecream.

The fabric is Liberty tana lawn, in the design “Branchflower”. I completely adore it. It’s like the woods the prince goes through to find the Jabberwocky, or the brambles he hacks his way through to get to the enchanted castle.
No dress would be complete without POCKETS!

image

1 thought on “The Tulgy Woods”

  1. POCKETS!! Every good dress must have them!! I’m loving your blog, btw! Going for my first dressmaking class this weekend, super excited!

Leave a Reply

