Quilt

It didn’t quite take all of 2014 to make this, but it was close. And secretly I finished the edgings on the 2nd of January 2015. So in total it was about 10 months in the making. At certain stages I thought it would take my whole life, so 10 months isn’t bad.

This is my first quilt and I chose the chevron quilt pattern from the Liberty Book of Simple Sewing because it’s beautiful, comparatively simple, and not too fussy.

The fabrics are from John Lewis, from the vintage-inspired line designed by Hemingway Design.

I pieced it by machine in the springtime, and did the quilting by hand over my Christmas holiday, sat on the carpet in the sitting room wearing a sloth onesie to keep warm and for the most part not using any exciting tools after an unsuccessful start using a quilting hoop.

What can I say? I love it. But I’m not sure how to stop my grubby cat from sleeping on it.

2 thoughts on “Quilt”

Leave a Reply

