Hanging out

It’s been a very long time since I last dared to unleash my creative fury on defenceless plants. The last post here to feature greenery was over a year ago.

image

I’ve been feeling inspired to make a winter moss garden, after seeing one at my grandmother’s old house at Christmas, which I’d made for her in the summer soon before she died.

image

So I’ve made a few moss gardens, and also a few hanging jars to brighten up the loft. I think I’ll repot again at some point as I didn’t have any gravel for the bottoms of the various vessels used.

image

image

I didn’t realise how hard it would be to find good moss in London! I got some scrappy orchid moss from the local florist, but I’ve had to concentrate on succulents rather than moss varieties.

My new green friends are lovely, and have given me a chance to relieve the household mega jade plant of a few boughs.

image

image

image

image

image

I’ve also potted one of the Caligulids – what I call offshoots of my spider plant Caligula, which itself was the grandchild of a plant in the window of my Year 10-11 form room. Caligula is ten years old now, which makes me feel old. Anyway, I hope this Caligulid will thrive and soon be sending its own offshoots out of its Kilner jar.

image

Finally, here are some pics of my wonderful summer moss gardens. All the plants were collected from good old Canadian Mother Nature.

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

