Here comes the sun

I am ridiculously pleased with this shawl. I started knitting it on the plane to Istanbul in February, and it’s finally done! I still need to block it, but that can wait. It’s a birthday present for my mum, and her birthday isn’t until September. So for the time being it’s living scrunched up in a bag in my room.

image

The pattern is Girasole by Brooklyn Tweed. With apologies for getting technical, the only weird thing in the pattern was the way it told you to do ssk (slip slip knit) which left odd twists in the decrease. I did the normal ssk instead.

The yarn is Malabrigo Sock in ochre. It’s 100% merino wool, and really great yarn to knit with. I love the slight colour variation that come from kettle dyeing. I used 3 skeins. For some reason the fnal skein was broken and knotted in several (my which I mean, EIGHT) places, which was incredibly annoying. But it’s all done now, and I love the shawl. Can’t wait to see what it looks like when I’ve blocked it.

Knitting Girasole involved some pretty hair-raising moments. The worst was when I realised I had shifted the pattern half a repeat to the left for a couple of repeats on the round where the points of the outermost petals of the flower design were formed. Here’s a pic of the rescue mission:

image

I’ve moved on to knitting my first ever baby cardigan, for a friend who’s having a baby. How scary is that?! Only 4 years ago we were at uni together. I feel so old… I’m making the brand new and brilliantly-timed Wowligan cardigan by Kate Davies. She released the pattern only last week, and it’s perfect. I’m knitting it in teal with thin white stripes. It’s a helluva lot less complicated than Girasole!

Leave a Reply

