For ewe, mum

My mum loves sheep and I love my mum. When I saw some ochre sheep double gauze at Miss Matatabi Fabric I knew what I had to do… sort of. Actually once I had finally figured out that I wanted to make a Merchant & Mills Camber Set dress, I had to go buy another metre and a half because Japanese fabric is always so much narrower than anything listed on a pattern envelope.

sheep camber dress

 

I sewed this on the great new sewing machine my dad bought for my mum at Christmas. It’s an Elna, it lives in Canada and it replaces the dearly departed Singer machine which my mum made all my best dresses on when I was a bairn. You can glimpse the old Singer here. According to the sewing machine repairman, it was a rubbish model with plastic gears and stuff. The new Elna works like a dream.

Anyway: the dress. Here she is. All French seams everywhere because I’m obsessed with finishes. I really hope it fits my mum! She was in England at time of sewing, so no fittings were possible. It’ll be waiting for her when she arrives in a few weeks.

sheep camber dress frontsheep camber dress front detailsheep camber dress front neck detailsheep camber dress back yoke detailsheep camber dress backsheep camber dress

 

I also managed to eke out a set of Lakeside pyjamas from the fabric around the edges, which I thought was fairly impressive! Pyjamas to follow in another post.

Final pic with a very dirty window and orange day-lilies outside:

sheep camber dress

2 thoughts on “For ewe, mum”

Leave a Reply

