Two for joy

I first blogged about this poor single sock in February 2015. I’m pleased to finally announce that it has a friend, its life is complete, it can fulfil its purpose in life. Two socks! At last! And they both more or less go over my foot.

image

Sadly I finished the second sock just in time for summer, so I haven’t had an opportunity to wear them both together yet. But come autumn, I predict I shall be living in these. They’re so warm! So thick! So dense!

The pattern is from Georgina Parks’s excellent book for Rowan, Sock Knitting Workshop. It was a great pattern for learning fairisle techniques – easy to remember but great to look at.

image

The yarns I used for these are potentially awkward bedfellows – the purple-blue is scrumptious Rowan Fine Art sock wool. The pink stuff was dirt cheap – only £1 at Tiger – and is fluffy and rough. But I think the combination looks good at least.

I chose the colours based on a really vivid dream I had when I was about four years old, about a beautiful pink and purple fish I saw walking (in my dream) with my dad through Toronto’s Chinatown. Twenty-two years later, here I am knitting a sock in its memory.

I think the afterthought heel is a bit of a problem in this pattern, because the fairisle just doesn’t have enough stretch to take it. Hence my difficulties with getting these socks on (and off). I have already lined up my next pair of socks to knit, using this Japanese pattern. They have a gusset, so I’m hopeful that the heel shaping will be marginally better.

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

